Online Archive: African Independence Days

⇒ Search

The online archive “African Independence Days” consists of more than 20,000 images from twelve African countries. The research database comprises ethnographic material which was collected as part of the research-project “The poetics and politics of national commemoration in Africa” (2009-2013). The Online-Archive is continued for Ghana, Côte d’Ívoire and Burkina Faso, in the context of the follow-up research project “Marking ethnic and national differences in African national-day celebrations” (2013-2016).

The documentation of the 50th Independence Anniversary of Ghana (2007) was the starting point for comparative research on national-day celebrations in Africa. Between 2009 and 2013, a research group of six doctoral students at the Department of Anthropology and African Studies, University of Mainz, has been exploring the politics and poetics of national commemoration in Africa. In collaboration with a group of MA students, supervised by Prof. Dr. Carola Lentz, comparative research has been conducted on the golden jubilees of independence in Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar, Mali, Nigeria, and on the twentieth anniversary of independence in Namibia. This collaborative approach permitted unique comparative insights into national memory at work and political celebrations in Africa. The archival material is complemented by documentation of the 50th anniversary of independence in Tanzania (2011).

The archive “African Independence Days” comprises the following types of items:

  1. Document: Photos of approx. 800 documents, i.e. posters, fliers, book pages, and brochures as well as historical photographs of past Independence Day celebrations.
    This category also includes lists of the documents/grey literature (sorted by country) available in the archives of the Department of Anthropology and African Studies, JGU Mainz; furthermore, the front pages of each of the approx. 150 documents/grey literature have been scanned and saved in the online archive to allow users a first look at the document types (such as programme booklets, flyers, invitation cards, comic books, history books, transcripts of speeches, reports, bank notes featuring the anniversary logos, news magazines or anniversary-editions of magazines).
  2. Photo: This category includes more than 16,000 photos taken at various events of the jubilee celebrations and events associated with the commemoration of the jubilee. Furthermore, photos of the post-2010 national-day celebrations in Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana and Burkina Faso have been archived. The photos document events such as independence-day parades, cultural parades, plays, concerts, torchlight processions, conferences, football matches, as well as photos of election campaign events or other national holidays, such as Eid al-Fitr, Pentecost or Flag Day.
  3. Object: Photos of the approx. 150 objects (paraphernalia featuring the anniversary logo and merchandise) which are preserved in the department’s ethnographic collection.
  4. Newspaper: Photos of approx. 3,000 newspaper articles taken from several daily newspapers collected by members of the research team and consulted in the respective national archives; lists of approx. 6,000 newspaper articles which can be consulted in the archives of the Department of Anthropology and African Studies. Among the articles listed are those taken from more than 150 local African newspapers mainly in English and French, but also in Afrikaans, German, Malagasy, and Swahili.

The descriptions and background data of the images are mainly accessible in German or English.

 

     

    Bilder: oben, rechts:Ghana@50 © C. Lentz, 2007
    unten, mitte: Burkina Faso@50 C. Lentz, 2010

Online-Bildarchiv: Afrikanische Unabhängigkeitsfeiern

Das Online-Bildarchiv „Afrikanische Unabhängigkeitsfeiern“ beinhaltet über 20.000 Bilddateien aus zwölf afrikanischen Ländern. Das ethnographische Material des Forschungsarchivs „Afrikanische Unabhängigkeitsfeiern“ wurde im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts „Erinnerungspolitik und Nationalfeiern in Afrika“ (2009-2013) fotografiert und gesammelt. Das Online-Bildarchiv wird im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts „Ethnische und nationale Differenzierung in afrikanischen Nationalfeiern“ (2013-2016) für die Länder Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire und Burkina Faso fortgeführt.

Die Dokumentation des 50. Unabhängigkeitstages in Ghana (2007) bildete den Grundstein für die vergleichende Erforschung von Nationalfeiern in Afrika. Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts „Erinnerungspolitik und Nationalfeiern in Afrika“ (2009-2013) arbeitete eine Gruppe von sechs DoktorandInnen des Instituts für Ethnologie und Afrikastudien (IfEAs) der Universität Mainz zum Thema nation-building, Erinnerungspolitik und Nationalfeiern. In Kooperation mit einer studentischen Lehrforschung unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Carola Lentz, wurden im Jahr 2010 Feldforschungen zu den Fünfzigjahrfeiern der Unabhängigkeit in Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabun, Kamerun, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Madagaskar, Mali, Nigeria und zum zwanzigjährigen Unabhängigkeitsjubiläum in Namibia durchgeführt. Ergänzt wird das Material der Datenbank um eine Dokumentation des 50. Unabhängigkeitstages in Tansania (2011). Zusammengenommen ermöglicht das vielseitige und anschauliche ethnographische Material einen einzigartigen Einblick in nationale Erinnerungskultur und politische Feiern in Afrika.

Das Material der Datenbank „Afrikanische Unabhängigkeitsfeiern“ umfasst folgende Kategorien:

  1. Dokument: Fotos von ca. 800 Dokumenten, d.h. Poster, Flyer, Buchseiten, Protokolle und Broschüren sowie historische Aufnahmen vergangener Nationalfeiern. Listen von Dokumenten/grauer Literatur (jeweils nach Ländern sortiert), die im Archivraum des IfEAs recherchierbar sind; dabei sind jeweils die ersten Seiten jedes der knapp 150 Dokumente/graue Literatur eingescannt, was einen ersten Blick auf die Dokumentart ermöglicht (u.a. Programmhefte, Flyer, Einladungskarten, Comicbände, Geschichtsbücher, Redetexte, Berichte, Geldscheine mit Jubiläumslogo, Zeitschriften oder Jubiläumshefte).
  2. Foto: mehr als 16.000 Fotos von unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungen des Jubiläumsprogramms und weiteren Veranstaltungen, die im Zeichen des Jubiläums veranstaltet wurden; außerdem Fotos der Feiern in Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire und Burkina Faso seit 2010. Dokumentiert sind u.a. die Unabhängigkeitsparaden, Kulturparaden, Theateraufführungen, Konzerte, Fackelzüge, Konferenzen und Fußballspiele, aber auch Wahlkampfveranstaltungen oder weitere Nationalfeiertage wie z.B. Ende des Ramadan, Pfingstfest oder der Tag der Nationalflagge.
  3. Objekt: Fotos der ca. 150 Objekte (Paraphernalia mit Jubiläums-Logos und Merchandise-Artikel), die in der Ethnographischen Studiensammlung aufbewahrt werden.
  4. Zeitung: Fotos von über 3.000 Zeitungsartikeln, die von diversen Tageszeitungen (unter anderem aus Nationalarchiven vor Ort) abfotografiert wurden.
    Außerdem sind in dieser Kategorie Listen abrufbar, die einen Überblick über die insgesamt ca. 6.000 Zeitungsartikeln geben, die im Archiv des IfEAs recherchierbar sind. Im Zeitungsarchiv „Afrikanische Unabhängigkeitsfeiern“ werden Artikel aus über 150 lokalen afrikanischen Tageszeitungen (überwiegend Englisch und Französisch, aber auch Afrikaans, Deutsch, Malagasy und Swahili) aufbewahrt, die von den Projektmitgliedern gesammelten wurden.

 

 

Bilder: oben, rechts:Ghana@50 © C. Lentz, 2007
unten, mitte: Burkina Faso@50 C. Lentz, 2010


 
Kontakt

Leiterin:
Prof Dr. Carola Lentz

Ansprechpartnerin:
Marie-Christin Gabriel


Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen