Prof. Dr. Markus Verne

Professor in Anthropology with a Focus on Aesthetics
Illustration

Research interests
Aesthetics and aesthetic experience, anthropology of popular music, African popular music, anthropological theories in historical perspective, economic anthropology (focus: poverty and lack, consumption)

Research Areas
Indian Ocean (in particular Madagascar), Westafrica (in particular Niger)


Portrait

I am a professor in anthropology with a focus on aesthetics.  I studied cultural anthropology, philosophy and psychology at the universities of Tübingen and Mainz, then did my PhD on consumption and scarcity in rural Niger. Since 2006, I stronly engage in research on popular music, with Madagascar being my main fieldwork site.

In my ongoing research, I try to understand aesthetic dimensions of music experience within the framework of “existential anthropology”, asking how what is experienced in music is rendered meaningful in relation to everyday life. With this, I am striving to better understand how music and aesthetic experience more generally interrelate with individual as well as social practices. The regional foci of my work are Africa and the Indian Ocean, with a special focus on Madagascar.

Recent Publications (selection)

(2017, Hg.) The Indian Ocean as Aesthetic Space (special section); Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, 27.2 (mit Julia Verne).

(2017) The Indian Ocean as Aesthetic Space - Introduction; in: Julia Verne und Markus Verne (Hg.): The Indian Ocean as Aesthetic Space (special section); Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, 27.2, 314-320.

(2017, Hg.) Körper Technik Wissen. Kreativität und Aneignungsprozesse in Afrika. In den Spuren Kurt Becks; Münster: Lit. (mit Paola Ivanov und Magnus Treiber)

(2017) In den Spuren Kurt Becks. Versuch einer akademischen Würdigung; in: Markus Verne, Paola Ivanov und Magnus Treiber (Hg.): Körper Technik Wissen. Kreativität und Aneignungsprozesse in Afrika. In den Spuren Kurt Becks; Münster: Lit, 9-29.

(2017) Kulturrelativismus, Gleichmacherei und verstimmte Gitarren; Kulturrelativismus und Aufklärung (Blogbeitrag) <http://gssc.uni-koeln.de/node/1622>.

(2017) "A Highland Thing“.  Heavy Metal and the Construction of Cultural Difference in Madagascar; Journal of World Popular Music, 4.1, 58-77.

(2017) Madagassischer Heavy Metal: Globale oder lokale Praxis? in: Claus Legge­wie und Erik Meyer (Hg.): Global Pop. Das Buch zur Weltmusik; Stutt­gart/Weimar: J.B.Metzler und Bonn: Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, 359-365.

Prof. Dr. Markus Verne

Professur für Ethnologie mit Schwerpunkt Ästhetik
Illustration

Thematische Schwerpunkte
Ästhetik und ästhetische Erfahrung, Ethnologie populärer Musik, Musikethnologie Afrikas, Geschichte und Theorien der Ethnologie, Wirtschaftsethnologie (Schwerpunkte: Armut und Mangel, Konsum)

Regionale Schwerpunkte
Indischer Ozean (insbesondere Madagaskar), Westafrika (insbesonere Niger)


Kurzportrait

Markus Verne ist Professor für Ethnologie mit Schwerpunkt Ästhetik. Er studierte Ethnologie, Philosophie und Psychologie an den Universitäten Tübingen und Mainz, promovierte an der Universität Bayreuth über Konsum und Knappheit im ländlichen Niger und forscht seit 2006 über populäre Musik in Madagaskar. Längere Forschungsaufenthalte führten ihn in die Hausaregion des Niger und ins madagassische Hochland (Antananarivo).

In seiner aktuellen Forschung verbindet Markus Verne einen existenzethnologischen Zugang mit Fragen nach der Ästhetik populärer Musik und Kultur. Im Zentrum steht dabei die Frage, wie populäre Musik in ihren unterschiedlichen Dimensionen ästhetisch erfahren wird und welche Rolle ihr bei der Konstruktion konkreter Lebensvollzüge zukommt. Ziel dabei ist, die Bedeutung musikalischer und überhaupt ästhetischer Erfahrung im gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Zusammenhang neu zu fassen. Das regionale Zentrum der empirischen Forschungsarbeiten bildet dabei der Indische Ozean, mit Schwerpunkt auf Madagaskar.

Aktuelle Publikationen (Auswahl)

(2017, Hg.) Lebensbezüge des Populären; Baessler Archiv, 64 (Themenschwerpunkt).

(2017) Einleitung: Lebensbezüge des Populären; Baessler Archiv, 64, 3-11.

(2017, Hg.) The Indian Ocean as Aesthetic Space (special section); Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, 27.2 (mit Julia Verne).

(2017) The Indian Ocean as Aesthetic Space - Introduction; in: Julia Verne und Markus Verne (Hg.): The Indian Ocean as Aesthetic Space (special section); Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, 27.2, 314-320.

(2017, Hg.) Körper Technik Wissen. Kreativität und Aneignungsprozesse in Afrika. In den Spuren Kurt Becks; Münster: Lit. (mit Paola Ivanov und Magnus Treiber)

(2017) In den Spuren Kurt Becks. Versuch einer akademischen Würdigung; in: Markus Verne, Paola Ivanov und Magnus Treiber (Hg.): Körper Technik Wissen. Kreativität und Aneignungsprozesse in Afrika. In den Spuren Kurt Becks; Münster: Lit, 9-29.

(2017) Kulturrelativismus, Gleichmacherei und verstimmte Gitarren; Kulturrelativismus und Aufklärung (Blogbeitrag) <http://gssc.uni-koeln.de/node/1622>.

(2017) "A Highland Thing“.  Heavy Metal and the Construction of Cultural Difference in Madagascar; Journal of World Popular Music, 4.1, 58-77.

(2017) Madagassischer Heavy Metal: Globale oder lokale Praxis? in: Claus Legge­wie und Erik Meyer (Hg.): Global Pop. Das Buch zur Weltmusik; Stutt­gart/Weimar: J.B.Metzler und Bonn: Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, 359-365.